Sponsored by:


This section presents an introduction to the MOC Process

Frequently-Asked Questions

  1. Must all ACC members participate in MOC? 
    ABIM diplomates holding valid time-limited certificates (those who certified in 1990 or thereafter) are required to enroll and participate in MOC in order to maintain their certifications. ABIM and ACC encourage diplomates holding certificates that are valid indefinitely (those certified before 1990) to participate voluntarily.

  2. Why participate in MOC? 
    Physicians need to be current with the exponential growth of new information relevant to all aspects of their medical practices. By participating in MOC, physicians maintain the clinical judgment and skills upon which high quality care depends. MOC is also an important credential recognized with hospitals, health systems, health plans, and the public.

  3. How should I get started? 
    The first and most important step is to enroll with ABIM. Enter the Physician Login from the  ABIM homepage . Log in to your Home Page and select Enroll in Maintenance of Certification Program. Follow the instructions and submit the enrollment form online. 

  4. Do I have to accumulate 100 points for each certificate that I hold? 
    No. If you hold more than one certificate (e.g., Cardiovascular Disease and Interventional Cardiology), you only need to accumulate a total of 100 points of self-evaluation, with a minimum of 20 points in self-evaluation of medical knowledge and 20 points in self-evaluation of practice performance. Medical knowledge modules are worth 10 or 20 points each; PIMs are worth 20 or 40 points each.  The points you earn are valid during your participation in MOC and can be applied to all certifications you are maintaining within that time frame.

  5. When do I take the exam? 
    You must take the MOC exam for each time-limited certificate that you hold. You can take the exam in years 6 through 10 of your certification.

  6. Do I have to earn all 100 points of self-evaluation before I take the exam?
    No. You can complete self-evaluation components at any point in the MOC process after enrollment, beginning as early as year one. In fact, ABIM recommends that you spread out the requirements of MOC over time.

  7. What is the best way for me to document and earn point credits for Self-Evaluation of Practice Performance?
    ABIM's MOC program allows physicians to choose the option that best reflect their practices. In addition to the options offered by ABIM, ACC members can select the Self-Directed PIM using NCDR® measures for members in hospitals who participate in NCDR®. NCDR® is an ABIM-approved source of quality improvement data. There are other PIMs available to cardiologists as well, including Hypertension, Preventive Cardiology, Hospital-Based Patient Care (heart failure and myocardial infarction), Communication with Subspecialists, and Communication with Referring Physicians. You may team up with one or more physicians to collectively engage in quality improvement activities and complete the PIM using ABIM's Group PIM option. 

  8. What are the procedural requirements for Interventional Cardiologists?
    If you are planning to renew your certificate in interventional cardiology, you are required to complete a Form Attesting Interventional Cardiology Practice to substantiate your performance as the primary operator, co-operator, or supervisor of at least 150 PCI cases during the two years prior to the expiration of your certificate. Please note that regardless of how many manipulations are performed in any one case, each case may count only as one procedure. You will also be asked to verify your participation in PCI quality improvement projects.


A candidate who is unable to meet the volume requirement may complete a procedural log of 25 consecutive PCI cases, including outcomes, in which he or she served as the primary operator during the two-year documentation period.

If you have questions, please call ABIM's Contact Center at 1-800-441-ABIM.